Referee controversy annulled Karim Benzema’s goal against Liverpool

Referee controversy annulled Karim Benzema's goal against Liverpool — Real Madrid won the Champions League after beating Liverpool 1-0. There was also a controversy over Karim Benzema’s goal which was disallowed by the referee.

Before Vinicius Junior scored the only goal in El Real’s win over the Reds at St. Denis, Paris, Sunday (29/5) early morning WIB, Benzema had thought he had broken the deadlock.

However, the linesman seems to have raised the offside flag. VAR then conducted a review, until finally the referee declared the goal void.

The goal came following a scramble for the ball in the Liverpool goal area. The round skin was then controlled by Benzema to be forwarded to the Red’s goal.

In the process Benzema was declared offside because he was standing behind goalkeeper Alisson. What is debatable, in replays it appears that the final touch was made by Fabinho before Benzema scored.

In a half time analysis on BT Sports, Peter Walton, who is a former referee, tried to explain why Benzema’s goal had been disallowed.

“It’s actually easy. Benzema is in an offside position, the foul occurs when he receives the ball. The ball bounces off Fabinho. That’s why Benzema is offside. If Fabinho deliberately passes the ball, he (Benzema) is onside. But because it was a bounce, it’s offside.”

However, the explanation was actually considered unclear by John Terry. The legendary former Chelsea captain commented sharply.

“How could it not be a goal? So relieved Peter Walton has explained it to us…” Terry tweeted sarcastically, as reported by the Mirror.

“The rules don’t make sense because how could a Liverpool player intentionally pass to Benzema? The fact that the ball bounced off a Liverpool player definitely means the goal is legal, right?”

See also  Real Madrid Scored a Goal, Virgil van Dijk was teased like Harry Maguire!

The goal controversy itself does not change the fact that Real Madrid won the Champions League this season and Karim Benzema became the competition’s top scorer.

But according to detikers how, Benzema’s goal against Liverpool is legal or not?

Check Also

German MotoGP Results 2022: Fabio Quartararo Winner!

German MotoGP Results 2022: Fabio Quartararo Winner! — MotoGP Germany 2022 is exciting. Fabio Quartararo emerged as the hero, there was a show Francesco Bagnaia fell toward the start of the race! The 2022 German MotoGP will be held at the Sachsenring Circuit, Sunday (19/6/2022) night WIB for 30 laps. This is the tenth series race in MotoGP 2022. Francesco Bagnaia [...]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.